Need a break


Ever think well, it’s time to take a break. We all do. But what do you do when you need a mental break? Most people go to work to get a break from home and go home to get a break from work. I don’t have that option as much as I like sometimes. By choice, we are a one car family and I’m a stay at home mom. I don’t have playdates because I’m not the most reliable person with only one car. My husband works 50-60 hours a week so there isn’t much time there. My oldest has to be on the bus by 6:30am and the other two usually get up as soon as they hear the door close.
My day has started. The girls are ready to eat in their sleep and with a family of 5, there is always laundry and dishes. (I don’t even pretend to get all that done) The majority of the day all I hear is “MOMMY SHE TOUCHED ME! MOMMY SHE’S SINGING! MOMMY SHE TOOK MY…” the list can keep going but I’m sure you get the idea.
Here lately, my youngest has got very clingy. All that she ever says is “mommy, mommy, mommy, mommy, mommy.” She repeats this a million times over and over. If I answer, she continues to say it. If I don’t answer, she continues to say it. My mind has become mush with the pregnancy and I don’t have the patience to find this cute in any way. She has also started copying everything her sisters say or do. So I still get everything repeated. I feel like I’m snowballing downhill fast.
My resolution for now is putting them in their room or outside, only to come in to eat and drink. (They keep water in a cup outside at all times.) We try to stay strict to bathtime and bedtime. We still do night love. Other than that, they are somewhere playing together. I make them solve their own fights and disagreements.
Am I the only one that feels buried under everything? Am I selfish to need time to myself to think (or not think at all)? Am I doing this all wrong? What do think?

Leave a Reply

