Because I am a mother


Because I’m a mother,

I do not get holidays off, not even Christmas

I do not get sick pay whether I’m sick, spouse is sick or a child is sick

I do not get company paid benefits

I don’t get meals where I charge it to the company

I do not receive bonuses

I do not get raises, no matter how many tasks/jobs get done

I do not get company recognition for a job well done

I do not get incentives

I do not overtime, not even for a call in the middle of the night

I do not receive any kind of special treatments

Because I’m a mother,

I get hugs and sloppy kisses

I get homemade ornaments

I get random “I love you’s”

I get to color all that I want too

I get to play with my food, choo choo

I get to be a princess

I get to be the “Great Loving Queen”

I get to stop in the middle of a busy day for a nap

I get to play with all the fun toys

I get to go on picnics

I get to make sand castles

I get to play dress up

I get to be a doctor and make it all better with a kiss

I get to watch cartoons all day

I get to sing silly songs while riding down the road

I get to have fun

And because I’m a mother, I get to watch the most important people in my life grow and become amazing people in their lives

I think what I do get from being a mother is much, much better benefits than what I don’t get. I love my life just the way it is, no matter how hectic my life can (and does) get.

 

Because I’m a mother…

2 thoughts on “Because I am a mother

Leave a Reply

